What our customers are saying

B&B

Guy & Sylvieanne M. BE 22.6.18 2 nights

Bon sejour. Est tres bon. Excellent !

Colin and Esther C. UK 15.6.18 6 nights

Truly a relaxing time. Thanks for looking after us. Jack was great !

David and Julie J .FR 15.6.18 2 nights

Lovely, welcoming and very comfortable. We will be back.

John & Alison B. UK 9.6.18 2 nights

2nd visit. Fabulous. The next time we will be neighbours !!!

Michelle & Dave P. UK 9.6.18 5 nights

First time visit, will come again. Fabulous stay with wonderful hosts (incl., Jack their dog). WILL see you again soon. !!!!

Nick & Marilyn K. UK 5.6.18 3 nights

Second visit.

Topline. Lovely house. Lovely people.

Michael & Wendy B. UK 25.5.18 2 nights

Lovely stay. Beautiful surroundings. Enjoyed the pool.

John & Alison J. UK 23.5.18 2 nights

Second visit. Just as good. Hopefully soon to be neighbours

Sue and Roger P. UK 21.5.18 3 nights

A wonderful stay with excellent hosts. Everything we could possibly wish for provided. We don't know who enjoyed it more , ourselves or our dog Jenni who fell in love with Jack. Thank you both.

Glaucey and Paul M. UK. 20.5.18 3 nights

We enjoyed everything. gorgeous breakfasts, with views !!!, loved our bed.

Thanks Jeanette and Richard!!!!

Jean Pierie et Dominique R. FR 10.5.18 2 nights

Excellent sejour, accueil chaleuseux. C'est in havre de paix. A reommander !

Roy and Nicole L  UK. 9.5.18 4 nights.

Thank you for your hospitality and all the house hunting advice. See you again soon !

Nathan G & Sylvia D .BE 7.5.18 3 nights

Excellent stay !We wanted to stay another few days........

Julian S. UK 3.5.18 5 nights 3rd stay

Another year anoither surperb stay. Keep up the good work.

Alan S. UK 28.4.18 5 nights  4th visit

As always Jeanette and Richard always make me welcome. Excellent stay and accommodation.

Catherine et Patrick D. FR 28.18 2 nights

Accueil chaleureux, chamber parfait. Tres agrreable sejour. Merci !!

Sophie & Tim B. UK 22.4.18 1 night

Huge thank you for a lovely stay. We hope to be back soon.

Bernard DuFour(x3) FR. 15.4.18 2 nights

Very nice warmth and facilities. Shame that the room services folder is not in French .... however fully recommend this B&B !!

Klara and Alan H.UK.  12.4.18 2 nights

Brilliant nights sleep and excellent hosts.

Kevin and Jan H. UK.  7.4.18 2 nights. 2nd visit.

Another lovely stay , thank you Jeanette and Richard for your generous hospitality.

Sylvian et Martine S. FR. 7.4.18 5 nights 2nd stay

Another magnificent stay. We are refreshed. Thank you very much, we will see you again.

Frans & Julia B NL.US 10.3.18 2 nights

What can I say?? Thanks for a delightful stay, for a great meal and for many good ideas - and that view !!!!!

Nacera & Donal G EI/FR 9.3.18 3 nights

We had a wonderful stay! Thank you for making us feel at home and yet on holiday!

Thomas & Kalvinder OC UK 27.2.18 2 nights

Thank you so much, we had a wonderful stay ! Our bed was completely comfortable, you must us feel very welcome and gave great Moving to France advice. thank you xx

Alison and John J UK 26.2.18 4 nights

Wonderful location & hosts. We will be back for the Sunflowers and our new life too !!xx

Neil & Araceli W UK 21.2.18  6 nights

4th visit. a longer visit, to make up for last rushed one! All expectations again exceeded, the friendliness and hospitality are without peer. Full advantage taken this time (in the nicest possible sense) and happy memories again!

Martin and Joanna M UK 10.1.18 4 nights

a lovely introduction to this particular area and to meet Jeanette and Richard.

Ray and Mary H.UK.15.12.17 2 nights

a lovely stay, thank you so much.

Andre de H.NL.6.12.17 2 nights

fantastic place and people. thanks !

 

Nick and April G.UK.13.11.17 2 nights

great hosts, lovely spot, good food. whats not to like!!

Neil and Araceli W.UK.13.11.17 2 nights.

3rd stay here..sadly too short and rushed visit truly to take full advantage of the superb facilities and excellent hospitality. must come back again.

Aileen and Mike Q.FR.10.11.17 5 nights

wonderful hosts, surperb stay, we have now bought the house next door (500m away)...see you soon!!

Jane T.UK.30.10.17 2 nights

thank you,very kind hosts & good maps.

 

Martine et Sylvian S.FR.27.10.17 2 nights

what a lovely stay. we will be back. warm thanks to both of you and Jack !! xxxxxx

Susanne and Tony B.UK.24.10.17 3 nights

lovely welcome, beautiful house and view.we were very comfortable. thanks.

Jim and Colette S.UK.22.10.17 1 night

excellent b&b, fabulous hosts, gorgeous dog! perfect!

Grazie et Christian S.CH.19.10.17 2 nights.

lovely welcome from Richard and Jeanette, anticipation that we will come again. thanks !

Nick and Marilyn K.UK.18.10.17 3 nights

lovely b&b, really nice room, great hosts.

Pamela and Jerry B.USA.6.10.17 5 nights

perfect place for us, you even gave us sunny skies! and good maps to everywhere, so glad you share this great place.

Margie and Jackie B.UK.8.10.17 3 nights

fabulous hosts, house and views. thank you very much , very relaxing.

Jenny and Ray P.UK.3.10.17 2 nights

excellent place to stay..comfortable and genial hosts. thanks vey much.

Fran and San P.UK.30.9.17 8 nights

amazing week with wonderful hosts!

Brigitte and Dax H.UK.28.9.17 1 night.

we came back so it MUST be ok !!

Ruud and Ingrid V.NL.23.9.17 2 nights

thank you very much for a lovely stay.

Mike and Lesley L.UK.13.9.17 2 nights

fabulous location, views, comfort and conversation. thank you for having us !! x

John and Karen C.UK.9.9.17 1 night

great place, nice people.

Brigitte and Dax H.UK.8.9.17 1 night

wonderful. lovely spot.

Norman,Janet & Janet W.UK.6.9.17 4 nights

1st Class, will come again.

Steve and Tina A.FR.31.8.17 1 night

a happy anniversary.

Karl and Veronica R.UK.27.8.17 3 nights

perfect stay. thank you.

John and Isabel M.BE.25.8.17 2 nights

we had a wonderful time here.restful and charming.

 

Sylvie et Dominique S.FR.25.8.17 2 nights

a very charming house and people. richard and Jeanette are very kind and helpful. a place of peace and serenity. we keep your phone number !!

Didier et Rosemary G.FR.24.8.17 2 nights

in petit haven de paix !

Alfred and Marietta W.NL.23.8.17 7 nights

great hosts and marvellous views.very relaxing. thank you very much Jeanette and Richard!! this is our 3rd stay here.

Simon and Jane C.UK.20.8.17 2 nights

tranquil, quite the nicest place we have stayed at, Richard and Jeanette .. delightful

Kate and Daniel L.UK.15.8.17 2 nights

a beautiful relaxing stay with the most friendly and helpful hosts. thank you!!

Celine C.FR.13.8.17 2 nights

merci pour ce chalevrey accueil. tout etait parfait! nous reviendrons.....

Martine et Jose D.FR.13.8.17 2 nights

tout etait parfait, le temps s"est bien repose. merci

Lois et Niale P.FR. 11.8.17 2 nights

tres bon accueil, beaucoup de charme dans la chamber. a bientot.

Jane,Rob,Rosie and Ellie R.UK.9.8.17 4 nights

lovely relaxing stay, thanks for all your help.

Nicky,Charlie,Hannah & Jonty F.UK.5.8.17 3 nights

an amazing stay all round, many thanks from all..

Philip H.FR.1.8.17 2 nights

great party, thank you

Eliana and Johannes T.DK.31.7.17 8 nights

thank you for an unforgettable stay in your b&b.the surroundings you have created here are amazing and so is your hospitality and service. we will be back !!

Sheila and John B.UK.29.7.17 9 nights

lovely place and lovely people & we had a great time. thank you to you both!!

Tracy and Steve J.UK.23.7.17 11 nights

excellent place and lovely stay. we hope to come back. thank you.

Kevin and Jan H. UK.20.7.17 3 nights

very comfortable and lovely stay. we hope to come back. thank you.

Olivier et Odile P.FR.16.7.17 2 nights

merci pour votre accueile votre gentelesse , le petit dejeuner was in eudiot tis plaisant et tis calme/ nous reviandious , merci beaucoup.

Kevin McG.ES.13.7.17 3 nights

Great .... I will be back

John B.SG.9.7.17 6 nights

Richard and Jeanette have created a beautiful home and a warm and accepting welcome to all. thank you.

Paul and Jenny M.UK.9.7.17 2 nights

a charming home with v kind hosts. jeanette and Richard have made us feel like friends. thank you.

Louise B.UK.7.7.17 2 nights

lovely couple of days, feeling well rested. thank you

Myriam et Michel J.FR.3.7.17 3 night

merci pour votre accueil et votre delicatessen. thank you.

Julie et Olivia R.FR.2.7.17 2 nights

merci beaucoup pour votre gentillesse!! Chambre parfait et adorable! thank you so much!!

George and Philip H.UK.21.6.17 2 nights

hostess with the mostess as always! lovely food and company.

John and Lynn R.UK.16.6.17. 3 nights

as ever a relaxing stay with excellent cuisine!! our 3rd stay.

The Woodward family.UK.3.6.17 2 nights

thank you for a wonderful stay , you are both so lovely and made us feel so welcome!!

Mark, Michele & Jema C.UK.27.5.17 2 nights

another fantastic stay, thank you !! see you soon , we hope! x

Araceli and Neil W.UK. 7.5.17 3 nights

another glorious stay. spoilt rotten. lovely!

Elsa and Ray T.UK. 7.5.17 4 nights

than you so much for a lovely 4 days, beautiful house and garden and a lovely bed. a perfect house to come back to.

Robin and Sally C.UK.2.5.17 3 nights

Fabulous and homely all at the same time, shame our visit was so short! many thanks.

Alan and Julian S.UK.29.4.17 4 nights

words cannot express how good Jeanette and Richard are how they put themselves out to make our stay feel like royalty. 5 stars plus !! this is our 4th stay here.

Anna Ryder Richardson UK. 25.4.17 2 nights

The most wonderful hidden gem, nestled on a hill with spectacular views, sumptuous, immaculate rooms and fabulous food! Have already booked my next trip. Owners couldn't be more hospitable actually feel like I have had a holiday rather than a business rip.

Michele and Keith R.UK.23.4.17 2 nights

our 3rd stay. another wonderful stay in this wonderful house. we are always made to feel so welcome, fantastic hosts and fabulous food. sad to leave. thank you so much. xx

Nick and Debbie C.UK.15.4.17 9 nights

lovely stay as usual, great company, food, accommodation. our only regret is that our new purchase has now completed and we will not have another excuse to stay.

Jilly and Peter, Tricia and Colin UK. 5.4.17 2 nights

our bitter sweet visit to you was made MUCH sweeter by you both. thank you. x

Michele and Keith R.UK.2.4.17 3 nights

utterly charming , we will be back.

Ceiline and Benjamin & Lucas. FR. 24.3.17 1 night

thank you so much. this family weekend was wonderful.

Sarah and Darrell B.UK.21.3.17 4 nights

absolutely wonderful !amazing scenery and lovely hosts, fabulous food! thank you so much !

Linda M.UK.21.3.17 4 nights

had an amazing time with wonderful hosts

Araceli and Neil W.UK.2.3.17 4 nights

what a wonderful stay...such warmth and hospitality. Muchas Gracias.

Jess and Keith R.UK. 25.2.17 3 nights

had a really lovely stay! thank you so much for being so accommodating.

Laura and John C.UK.14.2.17 2 nights

thank you again Richard and Jeanette & Jack, a lovely stay and fantastic company. this must be about our 14 stay!!

Ursala and Stuart P. UK.10.1.17 2 nights

very enjoyable stay, comfortable and looking forward to returning.

 

we have numerous other reviews . our website was totally revamped in November 2017 and we have only copied across our B&B reviews for 2017. IF you wish to see others then please just ask and we will send over the necessary pages.

 

 

Self-Catering Gite

Richard, Margaret, Sophie & Rose A . UK 24.6.18 7 nights

Lovely gite, enjoyable holiday, very sad to leave and cannot wait to return.

 

Cliff and Jayne T . UK 16.6.18 7 nights

Another relaxing and well needed visit to Labarthe, our 4th, and we will be back again....

Molly and Bob J. UK. 6.6.18 a month

" A visit to lovely Labarthe"

Once again, and thinking quite smart

we decided to stay a month at Labarthe.

At Southampton we boarded a FLYBE plane

and landed at Begerac in pouring rain,

then hires a rental car, with manual gears,

which I hadn't driven for 20 years!

I do not like the Peugot much

as often I forgot to use the clutch.

But we set a course for Duras and Labarthe

and the car lurched forward with a grunt and a fart.

Wit the help of Tom Tom we finally met

with Richard , Jack and the lovely Jeanette.

Our holiday started with cloud and rain -

I was almost ready to go home again -

but perseverance is an essential tool.

"Man up", I said and "don't be a fool"

we have stayed here before and we know its good

with gallons of wine and great French food.

But the most important ingredient

are your truest friends who are heaven sent.

Our heartfelt appreciation is clearly due

to Jeanette and Richard - a huge "Thank you".

We all ready look forward to our returning again

provided there's no thunder, lightening or rain !

Here ends my attempt at a poetical job

so it's very big love from Molly & Bob !

 

Hilaire & Leszek M. UK 5.5.18 7 nights

Lovely gite. Thanks very much ...hope to be back later in the year. We will be in touch.

John & Ali B. UK 28.4.18 7 nights

You have a fantastic home here in Duras. We have really enjoyed our stay. Thank you for your hospitality and your interest in our property hunt and your valuable advice.

Nick and April G. UK 14.4.18 7 nights

Thank you Richard and Jeanette for giving us such a peaceful haven, with the most stunning views in SW France.

Very comfortable accommodation, wonderful place. Thank you. We shall return.

Charmain D & Andy C.UK.16.9.17 7 days

What a wonderful haven of tranquillity you have created near Duras. The gite has everything we needed after visiting local markets to buy fresh products and home cook amazing French food. Bergerac was beautiful. We arrived in Autumnal cool rain and departed after a week in sunshine. xx

Jayne and Cliff T.UK.9.9.17 7 days

Is this our 2nd or 3rd stay? Another wonderfully relaxing week, thoroughly enjoyable despite the weather. am sure this is our 3rd visit to Richard and Jeanette's fab gite, there will undoubtable be another! xx

Ash and Vanessa C.UK.1.9.17 7 days

Thank you so much for a lovely week, the week went so quickly. Had a lovely time.

Peter, Elaine, Grace and Ella D.UK.26.8.17 14 days

Our second stay and possibly enjoyed it even more than the first time! The gite, gardens and pool were pefect! Lots of lazy afternoonds by the pool, days to Bordeaux and St.Emelion and Kayaking on the Dordogne! Richard and Jeanette have been wonderful hosts and we have enjoyed seeing you again! Oh, and we must not forget to mention Jack, who again has provided entertainment and fun for the girls. ( Jack is the resident dog !!). Thank you for a fantastic holiday and I am sure we will return again. xx

Trish,Paul, Finn and Daisy C.UK.12.8.17 7 days

What a wonderful place to stay and live !  Thank you to Richard and Jeanette for ensuring our stay was so comfortable and happy. We have all enjoyed the peace and tranquillity, the garden, the views and the pool of course! A lovely area to be in and the gite is PERFECT. Will love to return....Jane and Andrew,James and Alex D.UK.5.8.17 7 days

Thank you for a wonderful stay, a lovely gite, great views, in particular a pool with a view!!!!!!. We will be back.

Angela H & Christine W.UK.28.7.17 7 days

We stayed 7 nights in the gite. Weather was slightly disappointing but everything else was wonderful. Richard and Jeanette gave us a very warm welcome and provided everything you could want. We had a very relaxing time sitting in the garden enjoying the beautiful views. We had some interesting days out and would love to return.

Geoff, Sharon and Oily G.UK.21.7.17 7 days

A wonderful stay, thank you. we will be back - hopefully later in the year to find our own ideal home....

Angie and Richard B.UK.8.7.17 7 days

Having stayed here in March we booked to come back !! Thank you Richard and Jeanette for another exceptional stay. The kind hospitality, very high standards in the gite, pool and garden are only a few of the reasons why we will return !! Try the night markets and experience la vie en France to whet your appetite for the area- supported by some great tips from Richard and Jeanette. You will have a wonderful stay as we have. we will be back !

Richard and Carys C & David and Susan H.UK 1.7.17 7 days.

Booked the gite through Sawdays and as always a very high standard of accommodation and hospitality provided by Richard and Jeanette. After a hot start to the week spent the rest of the time dodging showers in surrounding villages but never the less a most enjoyable week. Well deserved accolades on TripAdvisor. Thank you Richard and Jeanette. A bientot!

Greg and Helen P.UK.24.6.17 7 days.

Is this our 2nd or 3rd visit to your lovely gite..not sure? Needless to say - we love it!! See you again, hopefully with a few of our family. Lovely pool, lovely garden, lovely views - peace and quite fantastic.

Gordon and Sorel C.CA.17.6.17 28 days.

our first time in a gite and in this area. we cannot say enough about the kindness extended to us by Richard and Jeanette from the moment we arrived to the time of our departure. The gite was also very comfortable and well equipped. The position of the house among the fields and vines is superb.

Angie and Richard B.UK. 20.3.17 7 days

our first time staying in the Duras area and we could not have picked a better place to stay. very kind and hospitable hosts and a very well equipped and comfortable gite. ! Thanks to Richard and Jeanette and we will see you in July!

 

Reviews have only been shown since the start of 2017, we have numerous more, since we opened in 2014. Our  website was revamped in November 2017 hence we have only copied reviews across from the start of 2017. IF you wish to see more then please ask us and we can forward as necessary.